Located below the main gallery, THE SUB-MISSION is an alternative installation project space dedicated to the development of artists living and working in Chicago. THE SUB-MISSION was created to foster the investigation of new ideas and artistic processes and to facilitate an exchange between artists and the artistic community.

Applicants are invited to transform the raw space of THE SUB-MISSION into an environment that submerges the viewer into a constructed reality. Successful projects will present original ideas and allow the exhibiting artist to expand unexplored areas of their practice. Examples of past projects may be found on THE MISSION’s website. Along with an exhibition, selected participants will be interviewed by THE MISSION, as well as develop related programming which supports THE SUB-MISSION’s goals and expands the reach of the exhibition.

Applications for the 2017 Exhibition Season will be open from May 1 to August 28, 2016. During that time, applications may be emailed to Applications will be reviewed by our Selection Committee, and chosen applicants will be notified of their exhibition slot by December 1, 2016.

THE SUB-MISSION rules and guidelines can be found here. Applications received which do not conform to the rules and guidelines will not be accepted.

THE SUB-MISSION 2017 Selection Committee

  • Steven Bridges, Assistant Curator at the Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum at Michigan State University
  • Allison Glenn, Chicago-based art historian, curator and writer
  • Sabina Ott, artist and professor at Columbia College Chicago
  • Rodrigo Lara Zendajas, Chicago/Mexico City-based artist

The Selection Committee represents a wide range of Chicago-based curators, artists, writers, critics, and collectors who are invited by THE MISSION to lend their expertise in selecting the most thought-provoking, innovative proposals. Previous Committee members include Eric May, Samantha Bittman, Matt Morris, Teresa E. Silva, Adam Brooks, Thea Liberty Nichols, Robyn Farrell, Scott Hunter, Lisa Dorin, Michelle Grabner, Tempestt Hazel, Megha Ralapati, John Sparagana, Lauren Weinberg, Robin Dluzen, Allison Grant, Jason Lazarus and Duncan MacKenzie.


Regina Mamou : Electrum

Nov 6 – Dec 19, 2015


Diaz Lewis

May 8 – Jun 27, 2015

Maya Mackrandilal : Kal Pani

Mar 13 – Apr 25, 2015