THE SUB-MISSION 2016 Application Process is Now Open.

THE SUB-MISSION is now accepting proposals for the 2016 exhibition year. Located below the main gallery, THE SUB-MISSION is an alternative installation project space dedicated to the development of artists living and working in Chicago. THE SUB-MISSION was created to foster the investigation of new ideas and artistic processes and to facilitate an exchange between artists and the artistic community.

APPLICATION DEADLINE: Tuesday September 1, 2015

To be considered, please submit an application in one PDF or Word document to THE SUB-MISSION is accepting electronic applications only.

Click Here to Download the Application Guidelines

THE SUB-MISSION 2016 Selection Committee

Samantha Bittman, Chicago-based artist

Eric May, Founder and Director of Roots & Culture

Matt Morris, Chicago-based artist, writer and curator

Teresa E. Silva, Director of Exhibitions & Residencies at Chicago Artists Coalition

Previous selection committee members: Adam Brooks, Thea Liberty Nichols, Robyn Farrell, Scott Hunter, Lisa Dorin, Michelle Grabner, Tempestt Hazel, Megha Ralapati, John Sparagana, Lauren Weinberg, Robin Dluzen, Allison Grant, Jason Lazarus and Duncan MacKenzie


Peter Skvara : The Path of Storm and Flood

Sep 11 – Oct 24, 2015 UPCOMING


Diaz Lewis

May 8 – Jun 27, 2015

Maya Mackrandilal : Kal Pani

Mar 13 – Apr 25, 2015

Taylor Hokanson : Palimpsest

Sep 12 – Oct 25, 2014